Can I Drink Beer or Alcohol? One of the most common questions asked by beginners of the Gluten Free Diet is whether they can enjoy a nice pint of beer, a glass of wine or a spirit. Well there are yes’s and no’s to many alcoholic drinks.

Here Is What You Can Drink

As all distilled spirits go through the process of distillation this kills off the gluten protein in any cereals ensuring many drinks are Gluten Free (presuming no coloring or additives have been added which could potentially contain gluten), the spirits safe to drink are as follows:

  • Whisky
  • Gin
  • Rum
  • Vodka

Of course there are also many spirits made without grains and which therefore are Gluten Free and safe to drink, these are:

  • Brandy
  • Wine
  • Cider
  • Tequila
  • Mead
  • Rum
  • Sherry

Here Is What You Can’t Drink

  • Almost all beers
  • Real Ale
  • Lager
  • Stout

If you really enjoy drinking beer or lager and find it hard to give it up completely, there are some specialist Gluten Free beers available and can be found online at many websites. Here is a list of Gluten Free Beers.

Again cross contamination can be an issue, especially if on a night out in a busy bar where lots of drinks can be split and glasses can come in contact with Gluten beer and other drinks, so be extra careful when ordering drinks in any restaurant, bar or nightclub. If practical have a word with the staff or even the manager of the place you are in, if impractical and your unsure whether your drink is free from cross contamination, don’t risk it and do without!