When observing food labels, Gluten can be hiding in many forms. I recommend you take extra care in examining food labels extensively, especially at first as Gluten appears in forms such as:
- Modified food starch – this is only when the starch originates from wheat instead of maize.
- Vegetable proteins
- Glucose syrup (except those originating from wheat, barley and dextrose that have now been declared safe by European Food Safety Authority – EFSA)
- Malt zest
- Maltodextrin (a food additive produced from starch) was formerly in this list as well, but is now considered to be Gluten Free. Note: Maybe be gluten free if not made from wheat.
Look out for the Coeliac and Dermatitis Herpetiformis Charity Cross Grain Symbol on foods. Although currently it is not a legal requirement that this symbol be placed on foods, many manufacturers do display it and you can be guaranteed that any food that bares the symbol is:
- Gluten Free
- Suitable for people suffering from Coeliac disease and Dermatitis Herpetiformis
- Suitable to include in your Gluten Free Diet
Be Careful When Preparing Food At Home
Normal wheat flour can be a major pain at home, as 12% of its makeup is Gluten! Even if a tiny amount gets mixed in with your food, it can still cause major discomfort so please be extra careful.
- MGH Nutrition Services 2008. “Gluten Free Diet” – Massachusetts General Hospital. www.mgh.harvard.edu
- Mayo Clinic Staff, Food allergies: Watch food labels for these top 8 allergens, www.mayoclinic.com 2009